In some areas of the US, a "curfew" is imposed, in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a partcular time at night unless they are accompained by an adult. What is your opinion about this?

Considering today's society and the increase of violence on the streets, parents should pay more attention to what their teenagers are doing. In some regions of the US, a reclusion time has been imposed for teenagers, which must be accompanied by an adult after a certain hour, otherwise, they are not allowed to be outdoors. While some youth might consider this an authoritarian approach, I considerably believe that this action will prevent their involvement with illicit activities, as well as encourage more useful spending of this time. Firstly, imposing a curfew is an effective way to discourage teenagers’ participation in delinquent actions. Although most teenagers would say that they have grown to distinguish what is right or not, when it is related to the unknown or novelty, they might not consider all the pros and cons of their actions. Adults involved with drugs and alcohol have probably started this involvement when they were still young, so preventing this contact as much as possible is a way to prevent problematic adults. In fact, some researchers have shown statistics, in which 89% of adult drug addicts’ dependency started in adolescence. Secondly, the requirement to be home at a certain period would prompt adolescents to spend their time more wisely. Many teenagers claim that they do not have time to do anything else, besides studying and working. However, the time that they spend out of the house, especially at night, could be used for something that is more valuable for their future. As an example, parents should consider performing activities together with them, such as, playing a new instrument, teaching baking recipes, or learning another language. In summary, the imposition of a 'curfew' is an excellent approach for society in order to protect the young, who are often impressionable. I firmly believe this alternative is worth it and should be considered, as it will promote healthy habits and productive use of time.