Internet social media have become very popular. To what extent do you think this is a good or bad thing? Why do you think this is the case? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent days, the Internet is becoming more and more central to our lives. The rise of social media has sparked a debate about its influence on people's lives. While I agree that social media has brought a variety of benefits, I believe that its wide use inevitably has been associated with negative impacts on social interaction. On the one hand, social networks undeniably bring enormous merits to our life. Firstly, these media platforms help nurture and expand relationships. Social communication has provided us with the opportunity to connect with people and build better relationships with whom we are unable to meet personally. Moreover, Facebook, Twitter and countless other social networking sites also give people the chance to make new friends by finding others who share the same interests and concerns. Secondly, The internet and social media can boost productivity. These tools offer more information including real-time news than a library full of obsolete ideas, and the information is accessible at any time of day or night. Studies have linked social media use with greater success in academics as well as job performance. On the other hand, the attribute that makes social media a positive force in our lives make it potentially dangerous. For example, anonymity allows for cyberbullying. This is especially problematic for teenagers, as bullies can target and prey on vulnerable high school peers without taking personal responsibility. The second disadvantage is that social media brings us isolation. Extreme usage of social media has reduced the level of human interaction. Because of social networks,the interaction with other people has become effortless and people have isolated their lives behind their online identities. In conclusion, although there are some undeniable benefits of the popularity of social media, I also believe that it has some negative impacts on our life