Many people nowadays are concerned about the level of air pollution created by the number of people using air travel. They suggest it may be safer for people to use alternative forms of transportation such as road transport. To extend do you agree that travel by road may be safer option?

In recent times, pollution in various forms has become one of the biggest causes of environmental damage. While there are people who believe that aeroplanes contribute significantly towards emitting pollutants in the air, others feel contrary to this opinion. In this essay, I will showcase that air travel is still by far the safest mode of transport and I will support my statements with relevant facts and figures. In the fight to control the largest airspace, air traffic congestion has surged out of control in the last decade with least consideration towards the environment. Even though the carrier counts are phenomenally high, flying is still considered as the safest mode to travel across geographies. For instance, as per the study conducted by the International Transport Union Body, last 3 years data show that the overall accidents caused by flying have been a mere 5% compared to road accidents. Even though flyers get scared of the turbulence over oceans, they are still better than hit and run on the streets. Furthermore, the Road and Traffic Authority have done a devastating job across the country to maintain the quality of the street. Although driving your own car is certainly comfortable, it has to be supported by great roads and sane drivers. For example, as per the article in "The Times", Indian drivers are the worst vehicular operators on the roadway because only 20% adhere to road rules or stick to the speed limit, whereas others follow the signs only when they are monitored by the traffic police. This non-adherence to the rules becomes are a huge risk to the driver and the co-passengers of the opposite vehicle. In conclusion, I would like to reinforce that while we all have to contribute significantly towards saving the environment, using a mode that is high risk is not the best choice when we have to ply with the entire family. Therefore, I would recommend that aeroplanes are still the safest and the best travel method across various countries and sometimes interstate too.