Over the last few decades, there has been an increase in international tourism. Some people think that tourism is beneficial for local communities and should be encouraged. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

An immense spike observed in inter-border tourism over the last few decades has made certain people think that it is extremely beneficial for the local communities and hence should be encouraged. I am prone to agree with the given statement. This essay will enlist the pointers in detail and provide references in support of the same. Undoubtedly, travelling is a very common way to self-rejuvenate from the recurring chaotic life which makes it a well-pursuredpursued leisure activity. Nowadays, people consider International travel destinations to explore the culture of various places. Up until a few years back, family vacations were a popular trend which was limited to either a nearby hill station or any beach. However, with changing times and influence of inter-cultural movies, folks are not hesitant to experience a whole new world which is completely refreshing. Which is why, I believe that the Authorities should incentivise this kind of activity by running multiple promotions in various forms such as multimedia campaigns, video advertisements. For instance, “Incredible India” is a program run by the Ministry of Tourism which focuses individually on a speciality that each of the 29 states in India has to offer such as visiting the exquisite Tea Gardens in North-East India, exotic lake visits in Rajasthan, jungle safari and many more. This not only helps in spreading awareness about a specific region but also useful for the travellers to know certain famous spots they can visit during their stay. In addition, explorers also like to visit street shops and often purchase souvenirs for their friends and relatives. Furthermore, food is one generic thing which is of keen interests to the masses, this enables them to tickle their tastebuds with a variety of local cuisines, such as Thai food is very famous for its spicy flavour. In conclusion, I firmly believe that the governing bodies must promote overseas exchange programs which are not only good for the community but also play a crucial role in expanding the national economy. Apart from this, learning about a whole new culture leaves an everlasting impact on the travellers, as it will help them to have a better perception of the region and its citizens.