Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology In what ways has technology affected the type of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negative development?

Technology has changed the way we live and communicate, but some believe it has also affected the interpersonal contact between individuals. There are equal advantages and disadvantages due to technological advancement in our lives and our interactions and through this essay, we will discuss them in detail. They say technology has brought the world closer, is this true? While in earlier days a letter or a telegram would take ages to reach a person, now the internet has made it easy for anyone to convey anything, from anywhere at a click of a button. Furthermore, this breakthrough has been so life-changing that it has facilitated a convenient interaction with our near and dear ones daily. Moreover, high-speed internet-enabled companies to operate their businesses remotely, and interaction between colleagues helped organizations expand multi-folds. The latest example during the COVID 19 pandemic is how Zoom, the online video conferencing system helped more than 250 million corporates do business as usual in the lockdown without any disruption. On the other hand, there are various instances where in-person conversations have reduced drastically. Firstly, smartphones further enabled making video calling flawless, the reason why people slowly preferred to stay in to make that call regularly, over actually braving the traffic to go meet up. A good example of this is, how visiting my parents who live in another part of the city has dramatically reduced ever since I could interact with them on video almost every day. Secondly, a lot of households are finding it difficult to have a quality family time since most of the members are so busy with their phones. In some cases, the study indicates that parents had to enforce strict guidelines to avoid technical intervention around mealtimes. In conclusion, though technology had in most cases brought a big change in connecting us with others, unfortunately, it has changed how people meet and connect in person.