Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this day and age, a rise in the number of crimes has urged a dispute among policymakers. While many people argue that the solution for this circumstance is to convict criminals with longer periods, I believe that other methods to deal with this fact can be found. On the one hand, people who support the enforcement of strict punishments have their reasons since should prisoners be put in jail for an extended period, there will be no chances for them to misbehave. Safety-conscious people will find it more comfortable if thieves and burglars are put in jail longer. Furthermore, the more criminals spend time in prison, the better they are educated; therefore, they will be less likely to recommit crimes. Remaining prisoners in jail not only engenders their opportunities to earn a better life after they were released but also lowers the possibility for a criminal to return to their old path, which leads to an eventual diminishing of crimes. On the other hand, people who prone to the opposite side believe that lengthening the sentences of prisoners is not the best solution. It is obvious that prevention is better than cure so that alternative approaches should be put into consideration. One instance is that since homeless and jobless people can easily become criminals since they lack basic conditions to make ends meet, providing these people with career opportunities can be useful. Also, early in-depth education for students towards this issue can impose optimism and prevent youngsters to become bad adults. To conclude, even though the effectiveness of intensifying the conviction for criminals can be witnessed, I am personally intrigued by the idea of investigating different benchmarks to decrease the number of crime cases.