Most high-level positions in companies are filled by men even though the workforce in many developed countries is more than 50 per cent female. Companies should be required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women. To what extent do you agree?

Although most of the workforce in many developed nations is female, men are allocated the most senior jobs in many companies. Many business companies should establish a new policy to give a specific proportion of these jobs. This essay, however, disagrees with this statement because jobs should not be distributed based on gender, but on qualifications and men are smarter. The appointment of these high-paid jobs should be based on skills and level of education, but not based on sex. In other words, many business companies try to choose the most skilled and educated employees to be the managers of their departments. While many think it is just about getting a high salary, it is about the important and challenging responsibilities of other workers. For example, becoming the CEO of Apple Multinational Company in 2020 is a long-frustrating journey, with many difficult requirements that need at least a PhD degree with more than 20 years of experience. Therefore, gender should not play any role in identifying the right person for these jobs. Having a fixed percentage of women leading an administrative role would create an unfair system where women could occupy these jobs regardless of the fact men are smarter. Moreover, men are shown to complete tasks in less time than women. For instance, according to a recent study that was done at Oxford in 2021, males spend 30% less time in daily jobs to finish multiple assignments in Samsung than females. Thus, to increase productivity, we must work smarter. In conclusion, it seems reasonable to say that if we allocate a certain percentage of high-level positions to women, then we would damage our system.