The government should reduce the amount of money spent on local environmental problems and instead increase funding into urgent and more threatening issues such as global warming. To what extend do you agree or disagree.

Environmental issues are a controversial matter which has been discussed by different sectors of society. Some experts claim that countries should invest money to preserve their local environment. Others claim that authorities should plan to spend money on environmental problems related to the whole worlds. I strongly tend to agree with the last one. From my point of view, the Planet Earth needs all nations to be together to decrease these problems, such as deforestation, emission of greenhouse gases, global warming, etc… Firstly, one main reason that countries should aim to help to decrease global environmental problems is global warming. Research has shown that we have one decade to decrease deforestation, emission of carbon dioxide, methane and other greenhouse gases, otherwise, the global warming effects will the irreversible. Consequently, we will see climate changes severely, such as the hottest summers or the coldest winters. Another result, this we can already see, is the plants are changing their patterns, for example, budding their leaves earlier than dropping them later. The animals are changing their migration routes looking for better places to stay. Global warming is melting the ice of both caps in Antarctica, and in case we do not stop it we will see droughts, floods, rainstorms, and the global sea level could rise as much as 3 feet. Secondly, another reason that shows nations could invest money on global problems is the deforestation is decreasing the oxygen on the whole planet. Take an example Amazon forest, which has decreased its size considerably in the last years because of farming. People should be aware of this industry is causing to our environment. Cattles are the main sources of emission of carbon dioxide in the atmosphere. Moreover, the soy plantation to feed the cattle from all over the world is causing the Amazon deforestation. Countries should invest money to make people aware of eating less meat. To sum up, as I see it, nations cannot leave to reduce global environmental problems for later because the planet is in danger. Countries should focus on the worldwide environment otherwise many lives will be extinct, including human being.