Consumers are faced with increasing numbers of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think consumers are influenced by advertisements? What measures can be taken to protect them?

In recent years rather than being well-informed about the details of newly launched products, people are bombarded with all kinds of advertisements. I believe the excessive popularity of advertisements has profound influences on customers and there are some measures which can protect them. The increasing prevalence of advertising exerts several detrimental effects on consumers. First, commercials might stimulate people to purchase products that they do not really need. In order to approach prospective customers and create brand awareness, many enterprises tend to exaggerate the quality of their products. As a result, unwary consumers who are swayed by glamorous advertisements are easily tempted to impulsively buy goods that are of little use to them. Second, the rising popularity of advertising can also encourage people to form bad habits. For example, as youngsters are not mature enough to distinguish right from wrong or judge what is suitable within society, they might become addicted to playing video games if they are exposed to commercials promoting those products on a frequent basis. There are several approaches that should be taken into consideration to protect consumers from the adverse effects of advertising. Governments should impose strict regulation on the advertising industry. Under stringent control, most businesses would be more responsible and truthful in promoting their products whether through online advertisements or commercial advertising on prime-time television. This would enable consumers to choose the most suitable and reliable products with greater trust and confidence. Additionally, consumers should have a thorough plan of what they are going to buy before they shop. By doing this, people will have time to prepare and make a wise decision about what products should be bought, which eventually save a great deal of money spent on unnecessary advertised goods. In conclusion, although the excessive prevalence of advertising brings a lot of disadvantages to consumers, there are several effective approaches to protect consumers from the negative influences of advertising.