In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

News is the only source of information that helps us stay abreast with whatever happens in the city, state, country or the world. Even though news channels and newspapers aim at increasing subscribers, there are only a handful of juniors that actually follow reading or watch the latest updates as an everyday practice. In this essay, I will be sharing the cause behind a lack of interest in watching or reading daily updates by the new age group and the possible solutions to bridge the gap. While the written and digital newsgroups focus on a single objective of acquiring a larger customer base, their focus has never been the younger age groups. Since these organisations lack research-based analysis, they keep catering to the level that makes them money. For instance, as a research paper published recently on "The Times", showed that 83% people start following broadcasts only when they start their employment and again, read news only specific to their work industry. As a solution to this problem, the news houses should dedicate pages to the younger section of the society and seek constant feedback to build a robust vertical over a period of time. Secondly, parents are always rushing to go to their respective offices in the morning hence the ritual of having tea and reading the morning newspaper is a thing of the past. It is proven that children watch and learn their parents' habits, and hence, if we want the children to learn to read, parents have to make that a practice at home and discuss the news with the younger ones. For example, based on an article, 45% children know that their father had a habit of morning tea and reading the newspaper so when they pick up the newspaper early morning, it reminds them of their father's tradition. As a remedy, I would suggest that parents should spend occasions reading to the kids and listen to the kids while they are reading. In conclusion, while the news may not be as interesting or parents may not have space, these are just habits that we will need to take time out for if we want our younger generation to take the mantle forward. The more aware the children become of the society, the better they will be to shape their own future.