Some people think the best way to motivate and encourage people to work hard is to pay them based on how much they produce and sell. Do you agree or disagree?

It is irrefutable that motivating people to work harder is vital to improve any country economical affairs, some people assert that it is imperative to pay people according to how much they produce and sell. Personally, I fundamentally agree because this way will incentivise people to work harder and compete with each other. It seems to me that, in order to make people push themselves and work as hard as they can their work and contribution must be evaluated, on other words, people who produce and sell more should be paid better than their peers, that way employers will give their employee the incentive to make more profits to the institution, for instance, if a salesperson is given a reward for making big sale other will follow and try to the same. Paying people who work harder will create an environment of competition among workers, as a result,workers will exert themselves to compete with their counterparts, because it is a known phenomenon that humans tend to work better when they are under competition, for example, when employers put the employee of the month award the competition to get that award will result in improving the work efficiency, hence the production rate will be higher and sizable gain will come to both individuals and the society so this way should be implemented. In conclusion, incentivising people to work harder is not a simple task, however,giving them more pay for extra work is a sensible and effective way to achieve that goal.