Some people think that the increasing use of computer and mobile phones nowadays has unwanted effects on the young people reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree

The advances in technology have proven to be a 'boon and bane' for the community. The statement explains that excessive use of electronic media has unacceptable effects on the reading and writing skills of youngsters. I partially agree with the statement and the grounds of my perception shall be discussed in this essay. To begin with, it is unarguable that advanced technology has made human life easier but along with its benefits it has some drawbacks also. To exemplify, earlier people used to read newspapers whereas nowadays they prefer to listen to news on their mobiles or televisions which has directly impacted the printing industry by decreasing their sales. Moreover, newspapers were printed in the mother tongue of the area or state, which helped in improving language fluency and building contact with their roots because of more inclination towards electronic devices where the first language is English they learn the language easily. Furthermore, discussing writing skills people prefer to type on their computers and many software have been introduced that correct both spelling and grammatical errors as a result which young generation tends to have lesser knowledge of correct spelling and grammar. For instance, yesterday I saw an advertisement for an application which types your emails on its own you just have to insert some hints about the topic you are writing about. On the contrary, there is an application named Whatsapp in which we can easily text our loved ones who are residing far from us. It is acknowledged that there is an option of recording messages and sending them to your family, with this input it's been easier for illiterates to communicate with their children without the need of writing a message. However, during earlier times people used to take the help of others to write letters. To conclude, computers and mobile phones have proven to have more pros in the lives of people rather than cons. It has made life easier.