Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that the same proportion of both genders should be accepted in every university subject. Although I do not agree with this idea, I believe that man and women should have the same educational opportunities. Having the same number of man and woman on all degree subjects would be simply unrealistic. This is due to the fact that student number on any academic studies depend on the applications that the institution receives. Thus, if a university decided to fill courses with equal numbers of males and females, it would need enough applicants for each gender. In reality, many courses are more popular with one gender than the other, and it would not be practical to aim for equal proportions. For example, nursing courses tend to attract more female applicants, and it would be difficult to fill these courses if fifty per cent of the places needed to go to the males. Apart from the practical concerns expressed above, it would be also unfair to base admission to college course based on sexes. For example, if a female student is the better candidate for a place on a course, it is surely wrong to reject her in favour of male student with lower grades and fewer qualifications. Therefore, universities should continue to select the best candidates for each course according to their qualifications. In this way, both man and women have the same opportunities, and applicants know that they have to work hard to achieve good grades at school in order to be successful. To conclude, from the examples and arguments given, I firmly believe that the selection of university students should be based solely on merit. It would be both impractical and unfair to change to a selection which is gender-related.