Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programme (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Mandatory social services is part of the secondary education in some countries. Many parents opine they are valuable experience to their adolescents, whereas antagonists feel that they could be a waste of time. From my point of view, Participating in communal activities are beneficial to youngsters' personal growth but they should be voluntary to give students more flexibility. On one hand, compulsory involvement in unpaid social service may affect our pupils' study. As Our students are already pre-occupied by a hectic learning schedule, they may end up being overwhelmed by these extra curricular activities. For instance, giving regular sports classes to younger kids requires weekly commitment even if our student tutors need more time to prepare for school. This may lead to less effort on studying and ultimately affect their academic performance. Therefore, students should get to follow their own will and decide whether they could handle their studies as well as extra social commitments. On the other hand, joining charity and neighbourhood events could boalster the social development of our younger generations. Not only do they could expand their social network and meet people from all walks of live, but also they could be encouraged to contribute wihtout asking for return. Giving is an ideal virtue of a model citizen and our society need more caring people to help those in needs. For example, love and care could be disseminated by visiting the elderly and chit chat with them. This could bring them pleasure and less loneliness. In conclusion, voluntary communal commitment is vital to our students' development as well as our neighborhood. But the school should motivate students to take part voluntarily rather than forcing them.