"Prevention is better than cure”. Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventative measures. To what extent do you agree.

It is undoubtedly the case that people around the world increasingly suffer from various diseases and the diagnosis and treatments of these diseases are far more expensive than its prevention. I do concur with this statement and in the essay, I will support my point-of-view with examples. One of the biggest disadvantages of research and getting treated is the skyrocketing cost associated with it. Hospitals and Medicines cost a fortune these days and better be avoided. For example, for simple stomach pain, doctors will prescribe an X-ray and CT Scan in the name of research, to begin with. Then, they will provide medicines that are not generic and are costly in nature. This example supports the notion that one should do everything possible to avoid falling sick. One evident benefit of trying to prevent illness is that the person is saved from a lot of mental agonies. The knowledge gained over last so many years will come to one's rescue here. With this knowledge and encouragements from the governments, medical companies are building vaccinations, that avoid sickness. For instance, today worldwide we get vaccines for common diseases like Cholera and Typhoid in infants. These are built to last and kids having them do not fall ill, at least for this reason. Hence prevention is definitely better than cure. In conclusion, it is better to avoid falling sick since the diagnosis and cure of any disease is too expensive and in my view, everything including vaccinations should be done to avoid it.