Some people think that cities should be designed to be beautiful rather than functional. Do you agree?

Public opinion about the purpose of urban planning always changes. Today, the viewpoint that the functional side should be sacrificed for urban aesthetics is increasing in popularity. In my opinion, city planning has to combine both of them. On the one hand, the aesthetic appeal of a city is important for the local economy and mental well-being of residents. Well-designed areas promote tourism that brings money into the treasury of a city. That boosts the local economy, funds infrastructure, and increases the wealth of residents, at the same time. Ljubljana is a small city in Slovenia. The population is about 300,000 people. Despite this fact, 1 million tourists visit the city every year. The city is well known for its green parks and streets, old gabled buildings, and delicious cuisine. The environment plays a crucial part in mental well-being. It is evident that attractive cities affect positively on mental conditions of residents. For instance, Copenhagen is in a top-list of the most beautiful cities in Europe. Another researchers report that the residents of the city in the top of mental well-being. Thus, design has an important role in the lives of cities. On the other hand, functional design is important to make daily life more comfortable and easier. The daily routine of people consists of the way to work, school, or home, shopping, visiting medical centers, government agencies, and entertainment. Hence, the urban planning should provide how to avoid overpopulation, offer comfortable housing, transportation, and easy and fast access to basic facilities. Singapore is an example that successfully decided the conflict between design and functionality. Due to smart management of the city ’s development Singapore is one safest place in Asia. It attracts many expats, who note the high level of security, excellent healthcare and education. At the same time, there is a wide range of beautiful places that attract people from the whole world. In conclusion, cities should mix both aesthetical appeal and practicality. They promote tourism, increase wealth of residents, and boost mental health. Additionally, well-planned cities help get of urban challenges such as population density, transportation, and healthcare.