An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school, replacing books and other printed materials like exams and assignments. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

These days and ages technological advancement provides us with several opportunities. Various educational establishments such as schools and colleges give their preference to electronic devices. This essay will discuss main benefits and drawbacks of using high technologies in education. The most important benefits are convenience and better school performance. Numerous books and notebooks are placed in the same device. For example, a student should not worry about forgetting or loosing his important workbook or paper elsewhere. Consequently, laptops are much more beneficial than paper-based information. Moreover, electronic devices with study record books provide detailed information about students' educational process. In other words, parents and teachers can easily monitor marks and see which areas require the improvement. As a result and average score can be much higher. Although, this option has two main flaws. Firstly, laptops are very harmful for the eyesight. Children complain about bad vision after spending too much time with a computer. Another thing is that students often exploit devices for entertainment purposes. For example, my cousin purchased a tab to my nephew Sasha in order to improve his school performance. However, Sasha plays lots of video games instead of doing his homework. Consequently, these two main drawbacks may interfere with educational process. To sum up, replacing printed materials with electronic ones may be convenient for both: students and their parents. Nevertheless this kind of learning may be harmful for children's health and their school performance. That is why, schools should think over pros and cons carefully before changing the way of education and provide additional rules for the device exploitation.