Some people think that it is good for a country’s culture to import foreign movies and TV programs. Others think that it is better to produce these locally. Discuss both views and give your opinion (approximately 250 words)

People have different opinions on whether it is better for a country's culture to popularize foreign movies and TV shows or to create domestic ones. While there are some advantages to producing local movies, I would argue that the entry of foreign programs brings many benefits as well. On the one hand, there are many benefits of local movies and television shows to the national culture. Firstly, young people can have a new measure of approaching their nation's history for stimulating national pride. For example, instead of learning history with textbooks, which is quickly forgotten later, students today may study the past of their country through documentaries and films produced locally, with live images in the exact locations and information on names and ages, hence historical milestones would remain in their memory longer. Secondly, through national films and television programs, generations could understand and learn the traditional customs that are formed and practised in the homeland for thousands of years such as the piety filial, the family values, and the celebrating new year. For instance, in Vietnam, cooking the sticky rice cake on the occasion of the new year is an indispensable activity that besides of being a scrumptious dish for the whole family enjoying it together, the sticky rice cake has the meaning of reminding people to memorize and thank the generosity of nature for providing all the foods and ascendants for their lifelong support to family members. On the other hand, despite the compelling fundamentals of local movies and shows, I believe that the variety of cultures in foreign movies and TV shows can boost the national one. From a society perspective, people can broaden their views on life in other countries and adopt the proper behaviours in modern life. As in the case of Vietnam, which is an agricultural country, currently in the process of industrialization and globalization, through the ideas obtained from the programs of western countries, many people who still do not have the correct consideration in terms of being punctual, queuing in public places or working professionally, which are essential to developing society, they will adjust their daily actions towards better conduct. Another perk could be the creation of a great opportunity for locals to put the knowledge of foreign languages like English, French, or Chinese into practice. A specific illustration of this can be The Oprah Winfrey Show, which was very influential to many young people, even famous stars, and many of its themes have been performed with book clubs, interviews, self-improvement segments, and philanthropic forays into world events, by watching this those who study English can gain exposure to the huge flux of vocabulary and grammar structures. In conclusion, although local films and programs can implant deep knowledge of national culture, it seems to me that the popularization of films and programs made in other countries contributes many positive aspects to the global integration of each country without losing its own culture's trademark.