Today, many people use the internet and smartphones to transfer money to friends, family, and businesses. Is this a positive or negative development?

Recent technological advancements have made things more accessible for everyone on the planet, the physical copy of money has gradually been replaced by internet applications and mobile banking. This opens the door to transferring money through the internet with the help of smartphones, and while this may be easier to do than other alternatives, safety concerns have been brought up by many. Drawbacks from this new method do exist, however, they can easily be overcome with ample development and a cautious attitude. To begin with, the use of smartphones for transactions means that wallets are no longer a priority. Mobile banking is easier to use with records of their own. This allows anyone to manage their finances a lot more easily and effectively without having to take notes of every transaction they do and without having to worry about forgetting their wallet at home. This convenience is even more crucial for those with smaller businesses as transactions can be done quickly with less transaction costs. On the other hand, many concerns have been raised about the safety and security of mobile banking. When cybercrimes such as hacking and identity theft happen more with the development of technology, there is no reason to believe that anyone with internet access can be safe from these dangers. If passwords and account information can be stolen by someone from the other side of the world, then mobile banking information and in turn the money connected to it can be taken out of their hands as well. To conclude, transferring money through the internet is a more accessible way of doing transactions for businesses and individuals alike.