Around the world it is likely that more adults will work from home and more children will study from home as computer technology becomes cheaper and more accessible. Do you think it is a negative or a positive development?

The technological advances by far has made working and studying from the comforts of ones own home possible. Almost all urban homes are equipped with computers and laptops, however, I believe that this is not an entirely positive developement given the reduced human interactions and the implications of such advances. Firstly, mankind requires the daily interaction such as in a work or school setting. We experience better mental health with intearctions that promote our sense of safety, belonging and security. Futhermore, studies have shown that cardiovascular conditions are greatly improved through these many exchanges and thus, having to continously work in a setting without stepping out gives rise to health implications. On the one hand, the reduction of pollution and resources occurs when travelling and the use of facillities is reduced. Without the need to drive to school or work and the overheads of lights and classrooms, our carbon footprint is lessened. Also, working or studying from home requires self-discipline as well as ensuring productivity and focus. As there are no time tables or schedules laid out as a plan, individuals are left on their own to ensure that they are discliplined in their fields to meet their goals. In conclusion, while the many merits of both home based learning and work has on the environment, it is undeniable that the lack of interaction would give rise to a paramount of mental health issues. A balanced regime could prove benefical where days could be allocated to people to complete tasks between home and office.