Some people advocate the death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society.Describe the advantages and disadvantages of the death penalty and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Although few individuals believe that in our modern society capital sentence should be given for heinous crimes, and others do not agree to this. In my opinion, not all the effects of this phenomenon have been positive, though there are certainly some advantages. In the essay, I will discuss both advantages and disadvantages of this phenomenon and explicate my point-of-view with examples. There are several drawbacks of giving a death penalty to someone. A common criticism against it is that the financial background of that person should be considered. If there is no one else in the family to earn bread and butter, the person should not be hanged. For example, if the offender is having a dependent family, it will not be able to survive at all. Who will take care of their fooding, housing and education needs? By default, their responsibility will come down to the government and tax payer's hard-earned money will be used for it. If in case, the offender was still alive and working in a prison or rehabilitation centre he will still be earning something which can be used for family. The other negative aspect can be that of humanity. God has made all of us, and we are nobody to take a criminal's life. It should be left for God only to punish someone. The above examples, support the idea that capital punishment should not be given to anyone in any case. One evident benefit of the death penalty is of reduction in serious crimes. Statistics show that any country with such harsh laws is able to control violent crimes. For instance, Saudi Arabia is having a straight death penalty if proven guilty for rape or corruption. It definitely acts as a deterrent to this crime and people will think twice before committing it. Another positive effect is that the government does not have to spend too much on policing with reduced crimes and that saved money can be used for the betterment of our communities. Hence, capital punishment is the way forward. In conclusion, despite the drawbacks of criminal's family becoming dependent on the government and executing someone, being morally wrong, we must take into consideration the fact that allowing execution will act as a deterrent for heinous crimes and spend on policing will be considerably reduced. Preventing crime and saving innocents by any means including execution is more just, and justice in my view is paramount.