It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays, it is observed that some students join a college in the same year that they complete their high school studies, while some others prefer taking a year's break. Therefore, choosing not to go for the higher studies immediately has its own benefits and drawbacks. On the one hand, after completing senior secondary, students have a plethora of options to choose in universities. Furthermore, different exams are held by many top-ranking colleges for finalising admissions, which require preparation. Hence, teenagers prefer taking twelve months off to compete and get into the institute they wish to join. In addition, this gap helps them to overcome mental pressure and take wise decisions. For example, exams like IIT and AIEEE to get in top-most engineering colleges in India needs extensive preparation. On the other hand, if an individual is capable of managing time and prepares for competitive exams while finishing their studies, they might save a year for themselves. Moreover, such people thrive under pressure and do exceptionally well in these circumstances. So, if one such teenager seeks to be admitted in an engineering college because he has cleared the relevant qualifying exam while studying then he can do so immediately. In conclusion, it is important that children should be mentally healthy and make good choices. A break to figure out a career choice should be a priority. Comparatively not taking time off might help others. Thus, whatever the choice, a happy mind mitigates humungous stress and helps to build a better lifestyle.