Many countries aim to improve their standard by economic development, but some important social values are lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, several nations believe that the improvement in standards of living is through economic growth, even though, certain social aspects are foregone, therefore. Although economic advancements have several benefits such as improved health care and increased investments, it has some drawbacks as well, like increased pollution and inequality. In my view, the norm is unavoidable as it has more advantages than disadvantages. To start with, an improved economy attracts several investors and this means that many jobs come into play. In return, natives are employed of course leading to the reduction of poverty and an increase in the way of living. Additionally, the investments made have eventually widen the tax base and as a result the quality of public services provided have changed. Health centres, for instance, many hospitals are built and made available for people to access them at a lower cost and in so doing quality of life is improved and so the life expectancy. However, several disadvantages come with the growth of the nation’s economy, firstly, gas emissions, due to the increased industrialization, several companies have emerged and this has increased the amount of carbon dioxide emitted to the environment which has eventually lead to the global warming effects. Furthermore, income inequality is an increasing issue in societies as some human beings have more money than the other consequently respect has been lost. Long ago, respecting each other was one of the major values in a community. Nevertheless, with continued development, this is no more. Overall, in my understanding, economic development is an important aspect of the improved standards of a country. As seen from above, the advantages weigh more than the effects on the social environment.