there is more and more violence in movies and on tv, therefore it is necessary for the government to control the amount of it to decrease the violent crime in the society. do you agree or disagree

While audiences are often drawn towards cinemas demonstrating aggressive behaviour, the likelihood of them committing any criminal activity as a direct result of such viewing are very low. I believe there are two reasons to support this view. Firstly,the correlation between aggression and media consumption is quite low. In several countries like China and North Korea, governments have imposed regulations and supervision on films in an attempt to prevent citizens from acting in a hostile fashion. However, when crime rates of China or North Korea are compared with countries that have negligible boundations on content viewership through movies, no notable differences are observed. Secondly, instances of violent acts in households have known to be much more of a trigger when compared to films or movies. In research conducted by the Indian Institute of Behavioural Sciences, over 100 prisoners with a history of aggression and violence were interviewed. What's worth noting is that a whopping 79% of the participants reported having grown up in households where domestic violence was prevalent. Moreover, 87% of the prisoners stated that they enjoyed comedies and dramas over violent films thereby ruling out any links between violence and media consumption. Therefore, while some may be of the opinion that viewing 'James Bond' or 'Terminator' may turn a viewer into a hostile criminal, the causes of high crime rates stem from much deeper rooted problems that revolve around upbringing and awareness. Governments should, albeit, invest in campaigns to promote peace and a sense of togetherness in societies rather than regulating the film industry.