In some countries, secondary schools aim to provide a general education with a range of subjects. In others, a narrow range of specific subjects is taught to focus students on their future careers. Which system is more suitable for today's world?

In today’s world, national education systems offer widely different teaching programs and subjects, depending upon the particular country’s educational priorities. If a nation requires more specialists than generalists, it may encourage children to specialize at an early age. Therefore, in my opinion, whether a narrower or wider range of subjects is taught at a particular age to a specific group of children relies upon the specific situation of each country. It is clear that different countries have different educational priorities. If one country finds that it is short of scientists, it may expand the teaching of science at high schools in order to cope with the issue. For example, in some European countries, priority is given to the recruitment of math and science teachers rather than those of other subjects. As a result, students may be encouraged to specialize in these areas instead of other educational fields whose skills are not quite so urgently required. On the other hand, other nations may choose to postpone specializations by their students until they reach university level. If students continue to study the full range of subjects up until university entrance, this keeps their options open when applying for a university major. For instance, a student who studies both arts and science subjects will be able to choose from a wider range of university courses when they graduate from high school. Consequently, students will not feel the necessity to specialize at the age of 15 or 16 when they may not be ready to make such a decision. Nowadays, it is vital that students choose the right subjects to study in order to make it easier for them to gain employment when they finish their education. However, in my opinion it is not necessary for them to do so during their school days, when they have ample opportunity to start making career choices at university.