Television dominates the free-time of too many people. It can make people lazy and prevent them from socialising with others. Do you agree or disagree?

Over the past decades, technology has brought different sources of entertainment. Television is one of them and the usage of TV has inclined over the past years. It has influenced people by making them enticed and disconnecting them from the rest of the world. I agree with the statement that it should not have a commanding influence on people. I will elaborate in the following paragraphs with some relevant examples. Nowadays, people are equipped with different sources to entertain them such as TV, mobile phones, the internet and they are not socialising with others. To cite an example, recent research showed that social gatherings have decreased by 75% of people in 1998. Even we can see the kids do not show much interest in spending time with their own families.They are not involved in their families' conversations. Consequently, technology is affecting society mentally as well as physically. For instance, stress is becoming a common problem in humans and 60% of that is caused by electronic devices because it releases rays which are very dangerous for our mental health. Also, it is making humans avoid exercise and other social activities which had been very famous in the past. To put it in a nutshell, everyone is utilizing their free time in front of the TV for hours rather than engaging in other social activities. The parents should make their kids spend quality moment with them. Also, we should be involved in social events so we can make good contacts. We can give some time to our health which will make us live longer.