nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Task 2

These days, many people choose alternative medical therapies rather than visiting their primary doctor. While some people believe that this step is positive, others question the evidence behind alternative medicine. Authorities worldwide are struggling and finding it a dilemma whether to support people to have the freedom to choose or ban these therapies unless there is clear evidence behind them. People choosing to go with alternative therapies are usually convinced by the successful stories and experiences of other people. Furthermore, some would argue that alternative therapies hold fewer adverse effects than medications and even surgeries. For instance, someone who is suffering from depression might choose to engage in yoga and meditation sessions, rather than taking medications or doing evidence-based cognitive behavioral therapy sessions. An explanation for that he might provide is being afraid of addiction and psychiatric medication side effects. Nevertheless, individual beliefs and religion play a role in preferring some alternative medical therapies. Additionally, culture for sure has its effect in choosing a therapy over another. On the other hand, others believe in evidence-based therapies that have undergone several randomized-controlled trials before being approved for use by physicians. People who really care about the science and pathophysiology behind the diseases often opt for medications and therapies offered by board-certified doctors. Moreover, trusting physicians who have dedicated a long period of their life reading and studying in order to offer the best practice for their patients, can be another factor. For instance, in some countries having a personal family doctor is mandatory from an early age. Having a regular family care provider from childhood offers plenty of time for education. This step helps patients in choosing the optimal therapies for their health. In Conclusion, I believe that trusting your physician and choosing evidence-based therapies is the right way of having successful treatment. Alternative therapies can be promising; however, more studies need to be done to prove their safety. Physicians should collaborate with others offering alternative therapies and do multiple collaborative studies together. Alternative therapies proven to have benefits should always be offered to patients.