Some people think that children should learn to read from traditional paper books, while others feel that it is fine to start the reading process on an e-reader (like a Kindle or iPad). Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

It is a ubiquitous argument between people that, whether the children should adopt traditional reading from books and newspaper or choose the digital platform such as Kindle or iPad. In this essay, we will discuss both perspectives however, I personally support to encourage kids to use digital platforms for learning and reading. Some people find their happiness in books and by reading newspapers in the morning. Furthermore, they want to cultivate the same habit to their children as well. In addition, they support their stance by saying, if reading books and newspapers are not encouraged then the livelihood of the people who work in those industries will be affected. Moreover, they consider the digital ways of learning, as harmful for children as it strains the eyes and considering the side-effects of UV rays reflected from the screen of any digital appliance. In another hand, many people point out that hundreds of trees are being destroyed for the manufacturing of papers and notebooks, thus affecting the eco-system. Hence, the digital platform is considered as the best alternative to prevent de-forestation at the same time the objective of reading can be achieved. Also, children consider this a cost-effective solution, that e-copy of books are cheaper than a hard copy and carrying many books to the school can be replaced by a single device. In conclusion, children can be encouraged to adopt the digital platforms for reading considering the positive aspects on the environment, however, those children who are comfortable with hard copies of books should not be forced to adopt digital reading.