The government's investment in arts, music and theatre is a waste of money. Governments should invest these funds in public services instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that the government should prioritize spending money on public services rather than wasting it on amusements such as art, music and theatre. I partially agree with the statement as public service is the foremost requirement for the state but at the same time, art keeps the people entertained and close to their culture. This essay will shed light on the importance of community welfare as well as why art is prominent in society. To begin with, Public welfare should be the main concern for the government. In other words, public services such as better healthcare, profound educational institutes should be on the top of the list as this will improve the lifestyle of the citizens. By creating better infrastructural premises for education, children would get superior results which will lead them to find better jobs, eventually helping the government by paying taxes. For instance, developing nations such as India and Sri Lanka where illiteracy is the highest are focusing on creating elementary schools in the rural parts so that every child can learn to read and write. Hence, providing citizens with better welfare is crucial when the nation is still in the process of development. On the other hand, art is something that keeps people intact and mentally healthy. To put it more simply, Art and theatre have been playing a significant role in keeping the community entertained, moreover,music enlightens the mind and soul of a person. According to a survey by Yale University, it was found that people who enjoy music and theatre on weekends bring better results at work than the ones who do not. This is proof that any entertaining activity can boost mental health as well as the ability to function the brains more actively. Thus, art serves as an important part of a human's lifestyle. To Conclude, Although the cabinet should focus on providing essential care and education first; the idea of removing fun and enjoyment from one's life by not including it in the budget is inconsiderable.