In many developing countries, there is a problem of declining quality of air and water. What are the causes for this and what measures could be taken to prevent this?

In the Third-world countries, a poor quality of air and water has always been a concern. A poor sewerage system and pollution are the main reasons for this issue. However, implementing certain policies at the national level can help improve the situation. This essay will look at these causes in more detail, as well as some solutions will be presented too. To begin with, a low quality of breathable and drinkable natural resources in developing countries is due to a poor drainage system and increased levels of dust and pollutants in the air. Most developing countries possess ample amount of natural resources, but suffer from a lack of the required technology to utilize these resources appropriately. For example, less consideration is given to the drainage system and waste disposal during town planning in these countries. This results in most of the litter and sewerage water being disposed of in the lakes and rivers, contributing to a low standard of water supply in the houses. These nations are also suffering from polluted air and this is mainly owing to the smoke coming from factories and old cars. As an example, for the past many years, one major city in my country has been listed in the top 5 most polluted cities in the world. During winters, the smoke in the air in that city combines with the fog and creates "smog". This causes a hike in respiratory diseases during those months and also leads to many road accidents due to poor visibility. As a solution to the above problems, governments of these less-developed countries should implement strategies at the national level for waste recycling and pollution reduction. If designated recycle bins were to be installed in every residential and commercial area, the residents would be more likely to use these services and avoid littering. Reducing smoke from industries and vehicles is another attempt that can be made towards a greener environment. Also, if the concerned authorities take strict measures against the violators of these rules, everyone would be bound to play their part in this mutual goal. In conclusion, going green is a global aim and taking steps towards a cleaner environment would ensure a healthy society for us and the coming generations. Going smokeless, aiming to recycle garbage, avoiding littering, and mindful use of resources should be aimed at a personal and national level. Lastly, change always occurs first at an individual level and every citizen should play his part in this.