Some people believe that internet has brought people closer while others believe that people and communities became more isolated. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While some individuals opine that social interaction has increased with the use of web technology, others think it supports self-obsession. In my opinion, it allows people to stay connected by providing technical facilities; however, this essay will discuss both views. On the one hand, the internet serves many ways of communication to increase socialization. Unlike past, these days a number of facilities people are availing through the computer network for connecting together, such as VOIP calls, social networking sites and blogs. These amenities give them the opportunities to share their updates, chat with each other, and make friends regardless of geographical distance. Thus, using the internet promotes users to get acquainted and show emotion. For example, Facebook Messenger is one of the popular meeting places for the netizens for sharing feelings and binding a strong network. Nevertheless, the virtual world makes users more self-oriented by taking their time and attention. Many individuals prefer to spend hour after hour in front of the screen for browsing, watching programs, or playing online games; consequently, they feel more interest in the virtual life instead of spending time with their family or peers. In this way, they not only become unconscious to others but also antisocial. For instance, a recent survey conducted by Wikipedia reveals that the% of egocentricity is higher among those who are over relating them with the online rather than life. In conclusion, people have contrasting views, whether the utilization of the world wide web is promoting solidarity or self-centeredness among the users. Although the application of such technology is affecting humans in some cases, the benefit outweighs the drawback if people use it consciously.