Some people believe that sports competition are a source of emotional stress for young people. Therefore youth should be banned from participating in sports competition. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, competitive games are often considered to be a causative agent for emotional distress among youngsters,so it is argued that these games should be discontinued. Although many might agree with this statement,I completely disagree with this notion,not only because of its positive impacts in terms of motivating the morale of sportsmen and developing a sense of comradeship but also because of several lessons learnt for the future. This essay will explore how these factors justify my opinion. Firstly,the factor that compelled me to disagree with this verdict is an abundance of merits linked to a healthy competition in sports in terms of morale-boosting and the confidence building.Life is an alternative name of struggle and hard work,if sportsmen leave the sports because of some failures in games, then there would be no sports anywhere.Take an example of Carlos Lewis,a leading soccer player of Sweden,once attributed his success in life to the rivalry he experienced in the playground. Thus,morale-boosting is one of the main benefits gained after contesting the games. Secondly,rivalry in games can lead to a sense of teamwork and comradeship.Playing together will bring a lot of positive changes in the personality of sportsmen including the discipline and punctuality. For instance,a recent survey done by the Oxford University cited that the grown-up players of hockey had shown favourable results in social works which required the teamwork. Hence,healthy competition is vital for building certain personal traits. Finally,the participants of a game make a lot of mistakes.These mistakes give an opportunity for the players to correct and rectify themselves for the future. To sum up,I believe that I completely disagree with this statement.Not only because of confidence-building and comradeship but also because of lessons learnt for the future.