Nowadays more and more people prefer to wear fashionable clothes. Is this a positive or a negative development?

There is no denying that the fashion industry has grown in the last decades. Moreover, the number of people who tend to be trendy has also increased. However, the fact that more and more individuals are purchasing fashionable clothes have sparked a controversial debate about whether the outcomes are more positive or negative. From my personal standpoint, the drawbacks of being dependent on fashion are greater than the benefits. Firstly, the major and crescent concern related to people who need fashionable clothes to wear in every single situation is that they need to spend an incredible amount of money because usually, these pieces are extremely expensive. Therefore, it is known that the number of people who are in debt because of this fact has increased. As a result, this situation has led many people to bankruptcy causing several damages, such as loss of identity and confidence. Secondly, another issue is related to self-esteem. One clear example is when a person needs to feel trendy in order to make friends and impress her family. Furthermore, it causes dependency and the individual cannot live without wearing fashionable clothes. Nevertheless, another angle of this discussion shows that people tend to consume because they simply are keen on it and also their income allows them to have this lifestyle. Additionally, clothes are their identity and are a manner to feel comfortable. To sum up, as I see it, consumerism in general sometimes can be dangerous, in this way, people need to find a balance between what is a necessity and what they need to purchase in order to impress or because they are addicted on it.