In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Nowadays, it is quite common for youngsters to have a break from studying after graduating from school. In certain countries, scholars are even encouraged to get a job or travel around between secondary education and college. The tendency of stimulating them to pause for a year before starting studies is a trend that has some pros and cons for young persons who choose to do this. The two sides of this trend will be thoroughly analyzed and discussed before drawing a reasoned conclusion. Firstly, working and travelling before studies can come with some unexpected difficulties as it can detach young people from studies and prompt them to concentrate on other things. For example, recent empirical studies by the US ministry of education demonstrated that almost 30% of adolescents who prioritized work or travel instead of studies are less likely to continue with their education. Therefore, young adults may end up never returning to their studies or find it very difficult to re-adapt to an academic environment. This is why it can be argued that taking time off after high school could be disadvantageous. Nevertheless, working before college could give secondary schooling graduates the opportunity to experiment with jobs and figure out what excites them the most. For instance, it is widely known that those who have spent some time earning a living and travelling to other places have a broader view of life and better personal experience to rely on. Consequently, after gathering some general knowledge and experience of the world, young adults should be more decisive in choosing which course will benefit them in the long run. Thus, this makes it clear that taking time off at that important is highly beneficial. In conclusion, the two sides of the trend concerning taking a one-year break before university educating have strong supports. However, it is clear that the idea of encouraging young people to work or travel after finishing high school should be supported.