In some countries children have very strict rules of behaviour, in other countries they are allowed to do almost anything they want. To what extent should children have to follow rules?

In today’s society, the way in which children are educated by parents and schools has been hotly debated. While in some countries, children have extremely tight rules regarding their behaviour, in others, they are completely free to do basically anything they want. This freedom is given to children, I believe, has a negative impact on their lives, since they might lose awareness about what is polite or not and they might have difficulties in following other types of rules in the community. Although we as adults can differentiate how to behave in many different situations, the same action might not be so easy for the youngest/younger people. Due to their lack of experience, their judgment can be affected, which means that they may behave inappropriately in some situations. In fact, many parents have pointed out that, at some point while young, their children had a bad attitude regarding their friends or even their teacher, like online bullying. Secondly, considering that rules serve as the base of any community, following any type of rules, while children are growing, will influence their lives positively. The main reason why regulations are extremely important for children is due to the fact that they will help them as adults to follow the rules of society. Many researchers have shown that 89% of problematic adults were in fact also children with behaviour problems. Thus, if you teach children to behave while young, we might observe a beneficial impact when teenagers, as well as adults. To summarise, behaviour limits can be considered by many as unnecessary, however, their impact on children’s lives might be seen in different ways in the future. Due to this fact, I am hugely in favour of imposing strict behaviour rules for children.