TEENAGERS WHO COMMIT SERIOUS CRIMES, SUCH AS BURGLARY OR MURDER, SHOULD BE TREATED IN THE SAME WAY AS ADULTS WHO COMMIT CRIMES. DISCUSS THE ADVANTAGES AND DISADVANTAGES OF THIS AND GIVE YOUR OWN OPINION?

Crime is increasing day by day. The youngsters who commit heinous crimes such as culpable homicide should be treated the same way as other major persons are treated. This perspective has lots of advantages and some demerits too. This essay will discuss both and support the former statement. Firstly, this view has some cons. The major drawback is that youngsters get labelled in society because when any minor child commit any serious misconduct, people never trust him in the future and avoid their offsprings to play or accompany him. This behaviour leads to anxiety, stress and frustration which gives birth to other crimes. In other words, punishments also work as a big hindrance to teenager's cognitive development because this view sticks to a minor's mind that nobody supports him in future. This way, corporate or capital punishments have some disadvantages. Next, the other side of this view, if every criminal is treated in the same manner, it will bring fear in everyone's mind that committing wrongdoing can ruin their career. For example, In the Delhi rape case where a woman was raped by minor boys and brutally killed by them, in that case, if severe actions were not declared against the culprits, then it will encourage criminals and crime in society. Thus, if the offence is committed then punishments should be given unbiased. In my opinion, the accused should be punished without any age limitation because if a minor knows how to do the crime, that means he must know that the consequences of his actions should be worst. In conclusion, I would say adults and minor criminals should be treated equally without any bias.