In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years, the number of elders who live is nursing homes, not only in England but around the world has been increasing. Some people believe that the responsible for affording the costs should be the government and others think that the family must bear this fee. This essay will present why I believe that the authorities should be charged. First of all, there is a plethora of families which cannot afford with the high prices of nursing centers. Most of the times the reason why they send their relatives to those places is precisely because they do not have any personal or financial conditional to purchase the medication or at least assist the basic necessities such as feeding and bathing, so they expect that someone can provides support. For instance, people who work during all day for minimum wage suffer for not being able to help, likewise they have to maintain the rest of the family. Moreover, even in cases where having money is not a problem, the elderly probably spent his entire life as a worker paying taxes and insurance. These contributions had been helpful in establishing the government. Using Brazil again as an example, the salary is deducted from taxes for the public health service, even though the citizen had never used the system. Hence, in return, the government should help the contributors, now that they are debilitated. To conclude, due to the not so well conditions of many families and the fact that all the citizens have been charging by taxes destinated to health, I strongly agree that the payment for nursing centers should be the responsibility of the government.