It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at early stage. Punishment is necessary to help them learn the difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree

There is a common belief that learning how to distinguish right and wrong is important for children's growth and some people believe that punishment is the best way to learn this. I partly agree with this idea since there are other teaching methods that can be used. On the one hand, many teachers and parents suggest that punishment is the key to discipline children when they disobey the rules or behave badly. In other words, for children who are under 5, punishing them for doing the wrong things can make them realize the consequence of their inappropriate behaviour. For example, a recent study conducted in Japan has shown that over half of young parents have found their children behave more properly than before when they take punishments such as forcing their children to have more vegetables instead of spoiling them. On the other hand, punishing children with harsh methods might not be a good means to teach them. This is because children will be hurt by their parents if the punishments are too severe. In other words, when children grow to a certain age, they can be really sensitive about the way people treat them. Take adolescents as an example, giving rewards and having a deep conversation with them might be more effective. Furthermore, making children do more housework or doing their own laundry during the weekend would not only be effective punishing methods, these activities would also boost their confidence and give them a sense of achievement. In conclusion, punishment is necessary when children under 5. However, parents and teachers should think of other milder methods to teach children about the discrimination of right and wrong. Personally, I believe that choosing different ways of punishment should base on age.