Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later, and it is often argued that these are the best people to talk to teenagers about dangers of committing a crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The way juveniles should learn about criminality is a controversial matter which has been discussed by different sectors of society. In that context, it is argued by some that people who were behind the bar, currently rebuilt their life and are capable of living lawful activities are the most effective individuals to explain to adolescents about crime and its hazards. I tend to strongly agree with this mindset. From my point of view, those people know exactly what is to be in jail because they experienced it, and also have passed through all types of situations that lead to the criminality. Firstly, people who have been in jail experienced all the negative effects that it can bring to life. It is known that prison is a violent place, and through their experience, they are able to give details about all the dangers and also help the teenagers avoid the traps which could lead them to a career of crime. Secondly, these individuals are able to explain about the emotional aspects of being in a prison. Researches have shown that being in jail can change the individual’s personality, and young people should gain insight into their behaviour to produce a positive transformation. Consequently, ex-prisoner has been through all types of emotions that to be incarcerated can bring and they could give richer details about it. Last but not least, children are capable of change. Through a good environment, they can receive good knowledge and become good citizens. Ex-offender who now have a good life are an example to follow the right path is the best choice a young person can do. To sum up, as I see it, although someone has made a mistake in the past, it does not mean that he or she do not deserve a second chance. They also have proved they became better people and now can instruct the young ones to follow a lawful path because they know more than anyone else how is to live in prison.