In some societies, the number of crimes committed by teenagers is growing. Some people think that regardless of age, teenagers who commit major crimes should receive adult punishment. To what extend do you agree or disagree.

There is no denying that youngsters’ punishment for committing crimes is a controversial matter that has been discussed by different people from our society. In that context, some specialists say that teenagers should be punished as an adult is. I strongly tend to agree with this mindset. From my own standpoint, I understand that young individuals who are sixteen years old or older have to face serious consequences about their acts. Firstly, when an individual has grown in an area that has more poverty, they tend to face more offences than individuals who are raised in richer areas. As a result, it is crucial for them to understand that consequences exist in case they decide not to follow a lawful life. For example, when they have in mind that someone at the same age is imprisoned, it could lead them to rethink about to commit a crime. Secondly, another point is juveniles are old enough to understand that their behaviours are not correct, in this way, laws should enforce them to follow the best path. Although they are still developing, strict rules could assist them to grow as better people. Take Brazil as an example, many teenagers commit crimes here because they know in a few months they will be released from the recovering centres and no harsh consequences will occur after their offences. To sum up, as I see it, adolescents have to be charged for their offences as an adult is because they already understand how a person should behave when living in society. However, a program aimed at teenagers should be implemented to assist them to live an honest life after being released.