Formal exams are used to access students at the end of each semester in many countries. Why are these exams used by schools and universities? What other types of assessment are possible.

A lot of countries are using an academic form of assessment on students which is held towards the end of a term. Formal exams are carried out in order to document learning progress and determine the particular academic level of a undergraduate. Although the traditional method is prevalent, alternatives such as projects and seminar presentations are used. To begin with, examinations are conducted by schools and universities for proper documentation and certification of students as well as determining the level of knowledge of the undergraduate. This is because educators want to be able to evaluate the pupil's knowledge along with being able to document students scores for future references as well as certify these individuals. This can lead to a proper organization in the educational setting. For example, all tertiary institutions in Nigeria conduct an assessment of all students before the end of the term and finally issue a certificate before graduation. Evidently, formal examinations are done for a proper course. Despite the acceptable forms used in evaluating students, there are various alternatives to this which are the use of project work and seminar presentation. This means that the student can conduct a research work using strategic methods which are usually marked by supervisors or external examiners. Also, giving a slide show on useful topics can earn students points. As a result of these, students can earn marks which are calculated and recorded as a final evaluation. For instance, an undergraduate is scored in his final project. Clearly, it is seen that grades can be allocated to other forms of assessment. Conclusively, schools and universities use an acceptable format in evaluating students every semester. More so, they do this to determine the knowledge of these students and award certificate. In spite of this, other forms of assessments such as project work and seminar presentation can be used.