Doctors in many countries are saying that people are not getting enough physical exercise. What do you think are the causes of this problem? How it can be addressed?

According to doctors all over the world, the population is lacking physical activity. From my perspective, the root cause of this worrying tendency is technological advances, and to tackle this issue, the governments should educate people about the ramifications (consequences) of a sedentary lifestyle. These days, technological advances/advancements in technology have widely contributed to a marked decline in the amount of physical activity people engage in on a daily basis. Whenever people have a spare minute, they tend to go for passive entertainment, spending their free time glued to a computer screen playing games, binge-watching their favourite TV series, or mindlessly surfing the net instead of spending time outdoors. To illustrate, when my parents did not possess a computer, hardly a weekend would go by without them getting together for a stroll or other outdoor activities with their friends or relatives. Unfortunately, now they have grown reluctant to do this as they enjoy surfing the internet and watching new releases on the internet, which is less energy-consuming. To mitigate this problem, the governments should step in, using the powerful mechanisms they have at their disposal to disseminate the information about the dire consequences of a passive lifestyle. In particular, if there were more TV and radio programmes about the dangers of obesity-related diseases, such as the risk of developing diabetes or suffering a stroke, more people would do exercise on a regular basis. For example, I took up doing yoga regularly after I saw a news programme, saying that even middle-aged individuals are at high risk of getting heart disease if they do not exercise at least 3 times a week. In conclusion, modern technology tempts people to spend more time indoors, resulting in them being less physically active. The authorities can rectify this issue by launching public awareness campaigns to encourage people to reduce their screen time and instead do more exercise.