An increasing number of people are buying what they need online. What are the advantages and disadvantages of shopping online?

Online shopping patronage has been found to be attractive to several people. Shopping online is beneficial owing to the convenience and variety of options it brings, but there are also some drawbacks to be taken into account. One major benefit of online shopping is the convenience and ease of shopping it provides. This is because, online shopping can be done at anytime of the day in any location. With online shopping, one does not need to be physically present before buying is initiated. In addition, online shopping presents the buyer an opportunity to select from a variety of a particular items to choose from. For example, a buyer can easily compare prizes of items from several online stores without being physically present. Furthermore, online shopping saves time, cost and energy. This is because an individual purchasing goods online does not need to drive or board public transport, thus saving some precious time that can be used to do other activities. On the other hand, a major issue with online shopping is that one is not availed the opportunity to physically assess or test-on an item purchased before delivery. This has often times led to complain or the rejection of an item already ordered and paid for. Additionally, there is the risk that an item bought online can get damaged or altered during transit prior to delivery. Another disadvantage of online shopping is that some charges such as shipping charges, which are not known to the buyer are subsequently added, and this could be costly depending on the amount, size and weight of the goods. Online shopping also exposes one to the risk of fraud and identity theft. This is because most online shopping transaction payments are made with the use of credit cards. As a result, one can easily be defrauded if the online source is not credible. In conclusion, while online shopping is beneficial in so many ways, people should also be wary of the dangers such as damages on goods, fraud and identify theft which are related to it.