Space exploration costs tax payers’ an exorbitant amount of money each year. What are the advantages and disadvantages of spending money on space exploration?

Experts around the world frequently debate on the controversial topic of spending loads of money, which is often accumulated through taxes on space expeditions, made to the outer world. The purpose of this essay is to analyse the benefits and drawbacks that result as a consequence of the aforesaid argument. Looking first at the positives, a significant advantage that space exploration brings is by finding other planets which are capable of supporting human existence. This is crucial because by travelling to other galaxies, we can surely know about other planets having traces of food and water. Given the tremendous crisis we are currently facing, in order to survive, we must find an alternative which can provide for the living. The recent discovery of traces of water on the planet Mars was one of the best human achievement; hence, this proves to be an effective way of utilising tax money. Besides, space explorations have lead to rapid technological advancement by providing us with the internet, as a result of launching satellites in the space. This has clearly been a boon to mankind and has impacted our daily lives showcasing the utility of space exploration. Nevertheless, excessive spending of taxpayers' hard-earned money on space does present some disadvantages, the most obvious of which is ignoring the current problem of poverty. Although space exploration brings the benefit of securing the future, one cannot ignore the present issues because only then can one imagine the future. In a recent survey, it was reported that as much as 20,000 people die of hunger in India, which shows how important it is to deal with this crisis. Furthermore, with the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic across the world, medical research and health facilities have become pressing points and should be given more importance than expeditions to the outer world. In conclusion, despite the positives of finding new avenues for human existence and upscaling the technology, the negatives of rising poverty and a burning need for improved healthcare facilities should also be taken into consideration.