In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering form health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent to you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The eating habits in some populations have considerably changed in the past years. In many countries, people are eating an increased amount of junk food, which has negatively impacted people's health. As an alternative to try to overcome this issue, I firmly believe it is extremely worthy to raise taxes on fast food as it will improve people’s health and deter them from eating it so often. Considering the hectic work schedule nowadays, fast food is an efficient way of eating although it can be harmful when ingested regularly. This type of meal can usually be found quickly while walking on the sidewalk from one meeting to another. Studies have shown that the time spent on meals during work shifts has decreased from 40 minutes to 22 minutes. For these reasons, many people have opted for eating these items and taxes must be imposed to manage its daily consumption. If junk food has the same price as organic fruits and vegetables, people will think twice about buying McDonald's, for example, as opposed to salads from the farmer’s market. Secondly, by imposing governmental tariffs on fast food, people will start paying attention to what they are eating and will reconsider their consumption of fast food due to its financial effect. Since its harmful impacts might take longer to be noticed, taxes are an effective way to draw people’s attention and hopefully prevent them from eating it currently. Economists assert that around 45% of people choose cuisine based on price alone. Therefore, tax imposition is necessary to draw the attention of the population with regard to the drawbacks of consuming fast food regularly and at high rates. In conclusion, the population in some countries have been affected due to the fact that they are eating too much junk food. Therefore, I strongly believe that taxes must be imposed on fast food in order to discourage people from eating it and help improve their health.