Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While in some companies personal questions during interviews are a usual practice, in others this kind of information is considered irrelevant and not taken into account when hiring a candidate. Those who agree with this approach suggest that information about hobbies and marital status might help to define the applicant personal profile and, hence, to prospect their fitting into the company’s group or department. However, for those that consider this unnecessary and I am strongly a part of this group, state that these types of question might be used against the contender during the hiring process. Hiring a candidate is a long and sometimes stressful process for both, company and employees. However, this path can be improved if the aspirant is a well fit for the position. As during work, the employees are subject to many interferences, such as meetings and social events, other features besides their professional abilities may be exposed. For these reasons, many employers argue about the necessity of personal information a priori, before hiring an applicant. In fact, statistics have shown that 35% of employees do not feel well established in the organization that they are part, due to their different interests besides work. Considering today’s society as a world of diversity, people may not follow the patterns suggested by society, which is still a way of living and no one should be discriminated by that. Profiling only what is necessary for the position would be of extreme helpful in order to avoid any kind of discrimination regarding hobbies, interests and marital status. Taking me as an example, I have never told about my gender be a drawback for a research position, nevertheless, for a group composed of just one gender, me not fitting into the position might not be only related to my professional abilities. To summarize, personal interests and other non-related work preferences should not be taken into account in any part of life except by those that share life. Therefore, I strongly support the hiring process that searches for candidates based on their abilities and fit with the position.