Some people say that now we can see films on our phones or tablets there is no need to go to the cinema. Others say that to be fully enjoyed, films need to be seen in a cinema. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A highly controversial topic today relates to whether watching movies at the cinema is necessary to fully appreciate the film or if it is possible to have a satisfactory experience using our phones or tablets at home. In this essay, I am going to look at the positive and negatives aspects of both points of view, and try to make some conclusions based on my ideas. There are people who argue that the benefits of going to the cinema considerably outweigh its disadvantages. The main reason for believing this is that cinemas today offer an immersive experience using big three-dimensional screen and comfortable seats that make the spectator feel as he was in the picture himself. Another good reason why people defend going to the cinema is that it is also an opportunity for a small change of pace in our lives, and, as a consequence, our brain will automatically be more focused to fully savour the experience. On the other hand, watching a film in a cinema can be expensive. The price can be prohibitive especially for those believe that eating popcorn is a must in the process of appreciating a show. Another negative aspect would be the risk of reserving a seat at a bad location or having someone tall in front of you blocking your view. Watching a movie at home using a tablet or a smartphone can be a game-changer for those who value comfort and flexibility. In this case, you can watch the film at a time and date that suits you the best. Also, since you can pause the video at any time, you won't miss any of it while going to the bathroom. This can be crucial to understand the film. For example, I once went to the cinema, went to the bathroom in the middle of the presentation and missed a very crucial dialogue which impacted negatively the way I interpreted the whole movie. Finally, another advantage is that you can make your own popcorn or eat your favourite food. In conclusion, I believe both options have their merits. On balance, however, my opinion is that going to the cinema provides more enjoyment than seeing the film on our tablets. This is because of the immersive experience and the change of pace.