In most countries, with the widespread of the use of Internet, people have more freedom to choose to work and study at home instead of travelling to work or college. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the ubiquity of Internet technology has changed people’s ways of learning and working. While I admit this modification could be convenient and user-friendly, there are also some downsides to the picture. On the one hand, online services for education and office tasks benefit people with flexibility in time as well as locations according to personal preferences. To begin with, by dint of telecommuting technology, distant learning and working could liberate users from the trouble of traffic congestions while travelling from home to schools or office buildings. This advancement could save people plenty of energy that could be utilized in further assignments on schooling or office issues. Furthermore, both students and employees would have much freedom and autonomy to balance their compulsory issues and personal life due to the increased disposable time they could spend at home. On the other hand, I would argue that there are probably more downsides to this new development. Firstly, many people could easily get distracted by various information that might pop out anytime when they use computers or other kinds of digital devices connected to the Internet, which would dramatically reduce their efficiency. Secondly, many tasks with a demanding requirement for particular equipment or facilities could hardly be completed online, such as scientific experiments or manufacturing items. Besides, while all the students and staffs are absent from classrooms and offices, it would create more challenges to supervision for both personnel matters and routine administration. To recapitulate, although the improvement brought by online services is obvious, I believe that the drawbacks need to be seriously considered and well addressed.