News media are important in modern society. Why are they so important? Are their influences generally positive or negative?

Nowadays, social media has become an indispensable part of our life, and has revolutionize the way we live in all aspects. While social media brings undeniable convenience to our lives, its drawbacks are too significant to be overlooked. This essay will elaborate on the significance of media and its influences. To commence, new media has profound influences on the ways people lead their lives. Newspapers have been phased out by the media, which is the main form of spreading the news and information. Instead of subscribing to newspapers that used to be delivered to the door regularly, people get timely news by simply browsing websites and scrolling phone screens. In addition, media impacts significantly on the values shared by groups of people, when the news presented are not always objective. For instance, the media may have polarized opinions from politicians and local authorities, especially when it comes to international politics. Given the presence of the new media, we need to assess its influences holistically. Even though the convenience and better experiences brought by social media are a boon to societies, the negative impacts cannot be ignored. Firstly, social media is forming biased values among people. The most common example is the skinny girls who are appraised as beautiful leads to the increased likelihood of contracting eating disorders among young girls in real life. Also worth mentioning is the verbal abuse and bullying that happen on social media. There are documented cases where users fell into depression because of attacks from keyboard warriors. The freedom that all people can participate and interact on the social media means these user’s behaviour might be out of control, without proper censorship and control in place. In conclusion, social media has been incorporated as an integral part of modern life. It cannot be denied that the benefits brought by the advent of social media, yet biased opinions formed by and the cases of inappropriate user interaction leave people to use the social media with caution.