In most countries, with the widespread of the use of Internet, people have more freedom to choose to work and study at home instead of travelling to work or college. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Internet technology has changed the way people work and study by allowing them to stay at home to accomplish their duties. While I accept that this modification could bring some benefits, it would cause more problems for both individuals and groups. The prevalence of computer devices could indeed improve the efficiency in workplaces and schools. Traffic congestions have been a serious problem in many big cities and people have to set much time aside for travelling between home and offices or classrooms. This situation usually turns commuters exhausted after arriving at destinations, which would dramatically reduce their performance in working or learning tasks. Thanks to telecommuting programs, people could get free from traffic frustrations and save a significant amount of energy that could be utilized in office issues and schooling assignments, thus better outcomes of working and learning. Despite what has been discussed above, I believe remote working technology would result in more negative impacts than positive ones. For individuals, users could easily get distracted by various information jumping out at the screen when they should stay focus on what they are supposed to do. At the same time, online working and learning will make people isolated from their team by depriving them of the chances of face-to-face interaction. In this way, alienation could be generated between colleagues and classmates, maybe loneliness or even depression in the long term. From a group perspective, people's absence from offices and classrooms would bring huge challenges to supervision and management. Moreover, many kinds of work that need special sites and equipment just could not be conducted via computers, like scientific experiments or artistic creation. To recapitulate, although online technology can help save people's time and energy from commuting, it creates more difficulties for users and organizers in concentration and management. Therefore, I reckon the disadvantages outweigh the advantages.